BJP legislative party meeting to choose new Uttarakhand CM likely on Monday – Reuters


DEHRADUN: The BJP legislative party meeting to decide the new chief minister of Uttarakhand is likely to be held here on Monday.

Central party observers for Uttarakhand Rajnath Singh and Meenakshi Lekhi could arrive a day earlier on Sunday or the same day to attend the meeting, BJP spokesman Shadab Shams told PTI.

The swearing-in ceremony could take place on Tuesday with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Interior Minister Amit Shah, BJP Chairman JP Nadda and chief ministers of several BJP-led states likely to attend the swearing-in ceremony. event, he said.

With Kumaon celebrating Holi on Saturday, many MPs who represent constituencies in that region are still there.

They have been informed of the likely government formation in two to three days and will arrive in Dehradun by Sunday, Uttarakhand BJP Chairman Madan Kaushik said.

While Pushkar Singh Dhami continues to be the frontrunner for the post of Chief Minister despite losing Khatima, other likely names for the top job making the rounds include those of Chaubattakhal MLA Satpal Maharaj, Shrinagar MLA Dhan Singh Rawat and Rajya Sabha member Anil Baluni.

Dhami is likely to be repeated as chief minister because he is young and energetic and also because the BJP challenged the polls on his behalf and scored a big win, sources inside the unit said. BJP State.

Another reason the party may decide to continue with Dhami is that he has already drawn a lot of criticism for changing two chief ministers in quick succession during his last term, the sources said.

“If Keshav Prasad Maurya, who lost his seat in Uttar Pradesh, can become a CM MP again, why can’t Dhami be appointed Chief Minister?” said a BJP leader, requesting anonymity.

However, if the party opts for a new face, the need to strike a balance of caste and region will be a deciding factor in choosing the next chief minister, the sources said.

As Ajay Bhatt, a Brahmin from Kumaon, has already been appointed Union Minister of State, a Thakur or Rajput from Garhwal could be chosen for the post of Chief Minister to strike caste and regional balance if necessary.

If so, Satpal Maharaj or Dhan Singh Rawat, who are prominent Thakur leaders from Garhwal, could become the favourites.

There is also talk of the new cabinet which will likely be made up of more young faces and more women.

New names circulating as likely for ministerial posts are Saurabh Bahuguna and Ritu Khanduri Bhushan.

Saurabh Bahuguna who won from Sitarganj is the son of former Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna and Ritu Khanduri Bhushan who won from Kotdwar is the daughter of BJP veteran and former Chief Minister Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri.

Comments are closed.